top of page

Kahuku Still State's Best for History

Jonathan Lautaha, John Nielson and Jeremiah Thee, ace historians. Photo from Kahuku High and Intermediate School.

Students from Kahuku’s public schools comprise nearly half of the state winners going at the National History Day competition June 10-14 in Washington, D.C., where they will bring history to life through their award-winning displays, essays, performances and websites on the theme of “Triumph and Tragedy.”

Kahuku High world history teacher and head chaperone Lorey Ishihara said History Day is as much a tradition as the Red Raider football team - she’s engaged her students in it for 15 years.

“We have a strong interest because it meets all the history standards for social studies,” she explained. “It helps reading, writing, researching and analyzing skills. It’s a great opportunity for students and teachers. They grow and they make great connections. It promotes education for life.”

Kahuku Elementary is sending three students (for the first time ever), Kahuku Intermediate nine and the high school five - and they’re still fund-raising on their own for the trip. (Sponsors are welcome to call 293-2241.)

“They’re excited to go to the Capitol,“said parent Terry Myer.“They’re looking forward to meeting other students and to see what they’re doing with their projects.”

Myer’s daughter, eighth-grader Ila, placed second in the state with Christin Hoag and Kira Ho Ching for their 10-minute skit, The Dawes Act: A Story of the Indian Tragedy.(The Dawes Act subdivided Cherokee Indian lands.) All three play multiple roles, and they created their own script using information found in diaries and other documents.

“We found it really rewarding because we learned so many things that nobody we knew ever heard about,” said Ila Myer.

Junior division winners (grades 6-8):

* Media: Kawena Bikle, Lacy Chun and Jazmine Emerson, grade 6, first place for The Triumphant Survival of Kahuku Sugar Mill Community.

* Performance: Jessica Tew, Dianne Veras and Sami Wheeler, grade 8, first for Abolitionists: From Tragedy to Triumph; Kira Ho Ching, Christin Hoag and Ila Myer, grade 8, second for The Dawes Act: Story of the Indian Tragedy.

* Essay: Marissa Compton, grade 8, second for Deng Xiaping: From the Land of Death to the Waking Dragon.

Youth display

Dezarae Lei, grade 6, first for W.A. Mozart: A Tragedy for Himself, a Triumph for the World; Alexandra Hoag and Mariah Kamakeeaina, grade 6, second for Desegregating America: A Triumph for Equal Rights.

Senior division winners (grades 9-12):

* Media: Jonathan Lautaha, John Nielson and Jeremiah Thee, grade 10, second for The Battle of Stalingrad.

* Performance: Darian Auna, Amy Bangerter and Chelsie Kamauoha, grade 9, second for The Cambodian Killing Fields: Tragedies of Year Zero; Kei Akoi, Kaisha Ho Ching and Cody Kimball, grade 10, third for Triumph vs. Tragedy: The Nuremburg Trials.

bottom of page