top of page

Make It Unanimous For All-American Kikaha

Washington senior Hau'oli Kikaha has become the first Husky football player to earn unanimous All-America status since 1995 as, Wednesday after, he was named to the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) first team. Earlier Wednesday, he made both The Sporting News and American Football Coaches Association first teams. In order to earn "unanimous" All-America status, a player must make all three of those teams, as well as the Walter Camp Football Foundation and Associated Press teams, which Kikaha, a buck linebacker from Hau'ula, Hawai'i, had already done. The last Husky to make consensus All-America was center Olin Kreutz, in 1997, and the last unanimous selection was offensive guard Benji Olson one year earlier. Kikaha is just the 19th UW player ever to earn consensus and one of only five earn unanimous All-America, joining Laywer Milloy (1995), Lincoln Kennedy (1992), Steve Emtman (1991) and Chuck Nelson (1982). Husky senior Danny Shelton was named to The Sporting News' first team as well. The nose tackle from Auburn, Wash., was named an AP first-teamer yesterday. Junior linebacker Shaq Thompson, also an AP first-team selection, was named to The Sporting News' second team. Kikaha was the only Husky named to the AFCA team, which only lists a first team (no second team or honorable mention, etc.). The NCAA leader in sacks with 18.0, Kikaha set school records for season and career sacks as well as single-season tackles for loss and yards. He was a finalist for five national, post-season awards. UW Football Consensus All-America Selections: 1925 – George Wilson, B 1928 – Chuck Carroll, B 1936 – Max Starcevich, G 1940 – Rudy Mucha, C 1941 – Ray Frankowski, G 1963 – Rick Redman, G 1964 – Rick Redman, G 1966 – Tom Greenlee, DT 1968 – Al Worley, DB 1982 – Chuck Nelson, PK * 1984 – Ron Holmes, DL 1986 – Jeff Jaeger, PK 1986 – Reggie Rogers, DL 1991 – Steve Emtman, DL * 1991 – Mario Bailey, WR 1992 – Lincoln Kennedy, OL * 1995 – Lawyer Milloy, DB * 1996 – Benji Olson, OL 1997 – Olin Kreutz, OL 2014 – Hau'oli Kikaha, LB * *Unanimous selection


bottom of page