2016 ALL-USA Hawaii Football Team

USA TODAY High School Sports is proud to announce the 2016 American Family Insurance ALL-USA Hawaii Football Team. Players were selected based on their athletic achievements from the 2016-17 season.

For the complete list of American Family Insurance ALL-USA state teams, click here.

COACH OF THE YEAR: Rod York, Mililani

York steered Mililani (9-3) to the HHSAA Division I championship in 2016, culminating with a 31-20 victory over Iolani in the title-clincher. The win gave York and the Trojans their second state championship in three seasons.


OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Tua Tagovailoa, Saint Louis (Honolulu)

A U.S. Army All-American and the state’s Gatorade Player of the Year, Tagovailoa passed for 2,669 yards this past season, amassing 27 touchdowns against seven interceptions. The Alabama signee also rushed for 727 yards and eight touchdowns while leading the Crusaders (10-1) to the Open Division state title.

First Team

QB Tua Tagovailoa (6-1, 210, Sr.), Saint Louis (Honolulu)

RB Challen Faamatau (5-10, 200, Sr.), Farrington (Honolulu)

RB Rico Rosario (5-9, 200, Jr.), Waianae

WR Jaymin Sarono (5-10, 185, Sr.), Kapolei

WR Ryan Ramones (5-11, 155, Sr.), Moanalua (Honolulu)

TE Pua Falemalu (6-1, 240, Sr.), Kahuku

OL Morris Unutoa, Kapaa (6-5, 285, Sr.), Kapaa

OL Michael Minihan (6-3, 285, Sr.), Saint Louis (Honolulu)

OL Onesimus Lutu-Clarke (6-6, 210, Sr.), Waianae

OL Jacob-Drew Russell (6-2, 275, Sr.), Saint Louis (Honolulu)

OL Vili Fisiiahi (5-10, 260, Sr.), Kahuku

Second Team

QB Taulia Tagovailoa (6-0, 190, So.), Kapolei

RB Alfred Failauga (5-6, 160, Fr.), Waipahu

RB Elvis Vakapuna (5-8, 186, Sr.), Kahuku

WR Justin Genovia (5-9, 155, Jr.), Iolani (Honolulu)

WR Andrew Valladares (6-0, 180, Sr.), Mililani

TE Kingsley Moses-Sanchez (6-0, 210, Sr.), Farrington (Honolulu)

OL Kalen Akiu (6-1, 285, Sr.), Kamehameha (Honolulu)

OL Logan Faitau (5-10, 287, So.), Farrington (Honolulu)

OL Pono Fatefehi-Segovia (6-1, 275, Sr.), Kapolei

OL Ahofitu Maka (6-2, 315, Jr.), Punahou (Honolulu)

OL Eliki Tanuvasa (6-3, 270, Jr.), Saint Louis (Honolulu)




Kaniho, author of six interceptions and five defensive touchdowns this season, was the backbone of a Kahuku defense that allowed just 9.9 points per game and produced six shutouts in 2016. He helped the Red Raiders reach the Open Division state championship game against Saint Louis.

First Team

DL Christian Mejia (6-4, 210, Sr.), Kailua

DL Miki Suguturaga (6-5, 260, Sr.), Punahou (Honolulu)

DL Myron Tagovailoa-Amosa (6-4, 270, Sr.), Kapolei

DL Aliki Vimahi (6-4, 250, Sr.), Kahuku

LB Sioeli Naupoto (6-1, 225, Sr.), Kahuku

LB Noa Purcell (5-11, 230, Jr.), Saint Louis (Honolulu)

LB Dylan Toilolo (5-10, 191, Jr.), Saint Louis (Honolulu)

DB Kesi Ah-Hoy, Kahuku (6-0, 203, Sr.), Kahuku

DB Stokes Botehlo (5-8, 155, Sr.), Kahuku

DB Kekaula Kaniho (5-11, 175, Sr.), Kahuku

DB Leonard Lee (5-11, 185, Sr.), Kapolei

Second Team

DL Feleti Afemui (6-3, 220, Sr.), Maui

DL Foi Sila (5-11, 241, Jr.), Farrington (Honolulu)

DL Braxton Victor (6-1, 215, Jr.), Leilehua (Wahiawa)

DL Faatui Tuitele (6-4, 270, So.), Saint Louis (Honolulu)

LB Isaac Slade-Matautia (6-1, 220, Sr.), Saint Louis (Honolulu)

LB Omar Mareko (6-1, 225, Sr.), Kapolei

LB Donovan Ugalino (5-6, 170, Jr.), Leilehua (Wahiawa)

DB Siale Hafoka (6-1, 190, Jr.), Lahainaluna (Lahaina)

DB Charles Moku Watson (6-2, 190, Sr.), Leilehua (Wahiawa)

DB Kaulana Makaula (6-1, 178, So.), Punahou (Honolulu)

DB Kyler Mento (5-6, 150, So.), Iolani (Honolulu)


P Adam Stack (6-2, 175, Sr.), Kamehameha (Honolulu)