Girls P4P: Alo completes perfect season

The name atop Hawaii Prep World’s end of season girls pound-for-pound rankings is the same as it ever was.

Kahuku’s Teniya Alo follows her sister, Teshya, as the state’s best after an unbeaten season capped off by her second state title with a dominating performance including pins in her four matches.

Teniya started the season outside of the top spot but took her rightful place after moving up to 145 to beat Radford’s Angela Peralta.

The closest wrestler to Peralta’s caliber Teshya faced in her high school career was Lahainaluna’s Breanna Dudoit-Vasquez as a freshman in her first state championship match. Dudoit-Vasquez fell to the phenom in 35 seconds but went on to take two state crowns in a different weight class.

Teniya returns next year and a third crown won’t be easy. The P4P is littered with returning champions like No. 3 Kelani Corbett of Leilehua, No. 4 Ashley Gooman of Kamehameha, Baldwin’s Jahnea Miguel and Nanea Estrella of Lahainaluna. Corbett and Gooman will be going for their third titles as juniors next year.

With fewer top seeds winning state titles than any time since 2012, this list includes two wrestlers in the top 10 who failed to win state titles last week in No. 5 Ivy Navarro of Lahainaluna and No. 8 Macy Higa of Roosevelt. Navarro lost to Gooman and Higa fell to Lahainaluna’s Alexis Encinas.

Four wrestlers picked up their fourth state medal on Saturday, with three of them — Navarro, Peralta and Encinas — capping their careers with titles.

Maui’s Chelsey Chaves took fourth at 102 pounds for her fourth trip to the podium.

The toughest loss in the championship round belonged to Pearl City’s Mikayla Abe, who fell to Czarina Pineda-Abaya 2-1 on a controversial non-call that earned the Falcon her school’s first girls championship since Megan Yamaguchi in 2010. Abe finishes the season at No. 17, right behind Pineda-Abaya even though she holds a 2-1 edge in major tournaments this year.

Abe’s loss was even more bitter considering it was the third time in her career she went to the final and fell short. Only Kamehameha’s Jasmine Cockett, who fell in the final in 2002-04 to three different opponents, knows the depths of Abe’s disappointment.

1. Teniya Alo, Kahuku 2017 state champ (132), 2016 state third (122), 2015 state champ (122), 2016 ILH champ (122), 2015 ILH champ (124), 2017 OIA champ (134) 2016 Officials champ (127), 2014 Officials champ (127) State championships: Pinned Jaden Rivera (King Kekaulike) 0:34; Pinned Lana Perez (Moanalua) 0:50; Pinned Charlize Jasmine Pascual-Tabuyo (Mid-Pacific) 1:13, Pinned Roselani Ikei (Kaiser) 3:02. OIA championships: Pinned Samantha Yabut (Campbell) 0:17; Pinned Alyssa Ryhn (Castle) 0:37; Pinned Lana Perez (Moanalua) 0:49; Beat Roselani Ikei (Kaiser) 11-5. Officials: Pinned Lana Perez (Moanalua) 3:13; Pinned Jahnesia Edwards (Kapolei) 0:38; Pinned Jahnea Miguel (Baldwin) 0:43; Pinned Anuhea Hamilton (Waianae) 1:00

See the rest of the article here:

#TeniyaAlo #TeshyaAlo