‘Iolani’s Hogland tops All-Defensive team

Kesi Ah-Hoy vs. Kalaheo--06 Jan 2017. PC: Honolulu Star-Advertiser.

Kahuku’s Jessiya Villa leads 2017 boys basketball Fab. 15 voting

The 2017 Star-Advertiser Boys Basketball All-State Fab 15 was released this morning, but coaches and media also checked off their votes for All-Defense and Most Improved on their ballots.

The All-Defense team is led by ‘Iolani’s 6-foot-9 shot blocker, Hugh Hogland. The springy senior was voted first or second on all but one ballot, using his wingspan and timing to be a major source of rim protection for the Raiders.

Kahuku landed four players among the All-Defense Top 10. Kesi Ah-Hoy, who came up big with perimeter shots late in the season, was a lockdown defender on the perimeter and a strong rebounder for state champion Kahuku. The 6-foot, 215-pound senior will play football at Oregon State. He finished second in the voting, joined by 6-6 senior teammate Samuta Avea, a Hawaii signee. The rangy, explosive wing was arguably the most versatile defender in the state. Avea was third in the voting.

Dan Fotu, a 6-7 junior with excellent shot-blocking skills, was fourth in the voting. ‘Iolani’s Helam Baldomero, a strong, physical and quick perimeter defender, rounds out the first five.

This group was joined by (in vote-total order) Codie Sauvao of Kahuku, Calvin Mattos of Waiakea, Liam Fitzgerald of Leilehua, Zayne Chong of Punahou and Isaiah Jackson of Moanalua.

Also receiving votes: Jessiya Villa of Kahuku (the All-State player of the year), Iverson Turno (Lahainaluna), Jared Elwin (Roosevelt), Micah Kawano (Kalani), Kaulana Makaula (Punahou), Captain Whitlock (Kalaheo), Douglas Mitchell (Waianae), C.J. Bonilla (Moanalua), Justin Genovia (‘Iolani), Chris Sykes (Saint Louis), Christian Mejia (Kailua), Payton Grant (Maryknoll), Kaulana Schmidt (Maryknoll), Ashten Kanoa (Castle),

Most Improved honors went to Kailua’s Everett Torres-Kahapea. The sophomore guard averaged 12 points per game as one of the best long-range marksmen in the OIA. Genovia was second in the voting, followed by Austin Aukai (Konawaena) and R.J. Dominguez (Moanalua).

Also receiving Most Improved votes: Jaylen Cain (Maryknoll), Kamren Victorino-Kato (Kamehameha), Boris Vukovic (St. Francis), Cole Mausolf (Punahou), Douglas Mitchell (Waianae), Zoar Nedd (Kapolei), Micah Visoria (Roosevelt), Trey Boatwright (Leilehua), Liam Fitzgerald (Leilehua), Cole Hogland (‘Iolani), Chris Kobayashi (Punahou), Mejia, Brayden Nueku (Kaiser), Schmidt, Taimona Wright (Kahuku), Caleb Casinas (Moanalua), Duke Clemens (Punahou), Kobe Young (Kamehameha), Zion Shepherd (Mid-Pacific) and Kameron Ng (St. Francis).

Other highlights of the voting by coaches and media:

>> Game of the year: Kahuku vs. ‘Iolani, state semifinal round. Kahuku hung on to edge ‘Iolani, the defending state champion, 51-48. Saint Louis’ upset of Maryknoll in the ILH playoffs got the second-most points, and the ILH championship game between Punahou and ‘Iolani received the third-highest vote total.

Results of voting for the top 4 in Division I and D-II for the 2017-18 season: >> D-I: 1. Punahou, 2. Maryknoll, 3. Kamehameha, 4. Leilehua, 5. (tie) Kalaheo, Kapolei, 7. Lahainaluna, 8. (tie) Farrington, Kahuku, St. Francis. >> D-II: 1. St. Francis, 2. Roosevelt, 3. Farrington, 4. Seabury Hall, 5. Kalani, 6. Honokaa, 7. (tie) Hawaii baptist, University, 9. Pearl City, 10. (tie) Campbell, Castle.

Note: Farrington received votes in both D-I and D-II. The Governors are moving up to D-I next season.

#KesiAhHoy #SamutaAvea #DanFotu #CodieSauvao #JessiyaVilla #TaimonaWright