2012 prep football all-star teams

Kahuku swept the top honors in 2012 with players of the year Kawe Johnson, left, and Aofaga Wily, right, behind coach Reggie Torres.

As the 2017 Honolulu Star-Advertiser’s football All-State team release draws near, periodically we are going to ask a spreadsheet to generate a random number between 1947 and 2016.

Whichever year pops up, we will post that season’s all-star pages here.

This selection is the first of recent vintage, with the Honolulu Star-Advertiser making collectible cards for each first-team selection for the first time.

Kahuku is all over the selections, with Aofaga Wily, Kawe Johnson and Reggie Torres sweeping the player and coach of the year awards.

There is still plenty to reminisce over, with Hall of Honor recipients Dayton Furuta and Keelan Ewaliko making it to the second team. Current Pac-12 stud Hercules Mata’afa made the third team as a junior.

Doubleclick the images to zoom in.

Subscribers to the Star-Advertiser can search full-page archives going back two years for free (pages are not available on the archive for 30 days after publication) at Newspapers.com. To access digitized newspapers from farther back — all the way to 1840 — subscriptions to staradvertiser.newspapers.com are available for $7.95 per month or $29.95 for six months.

#KawehenaJohnson #ReggieTorres #AofagaWily #JohnWaa #JakeSamsel #DevailoGaleai #LasselleThompson #JayvenMohetau #RashaanFalemalu #JohnnyTapusoa #LamoneWilliams