top of page

Mililani, Kahuku continue OIA dominance

For the 11th consecutive season, and 15th time in the last 16 years, the OIA top-tier football championship will go to either Kahuku or Mililani.

If last year’s tussle is any indication, the game might go down to the wire. If it does, it will be a rarity.

The big game in the public schools had been largely decided in blowouts since 2010, with the closest margin of victory being 13 twice before last year’s 35-31 Kahuku victory. Before that, the game was almost always a down-to-the-wire affair and with the new Open Division we might be going back to the old days in that respect.

The Red Raiders can win their fourth straight league crown, a streak matched by many schools but never beaten. The Red Raiders were the last to do it, grabbing titles from 2003-06 under Siuaki Livai and Reggie Torres.

Kahuku's Sterling Carvalho can become the 10th Kahuku coach to bring an OIA championship home, joining Makoa Freitas, Vavae Tata, Torres, Livai, Doug Semones, Famika Anae, Harold Silva, Art Stranske and Mits Fujishige.

Mililani’s Rod York can capture his fourth OIA championship in eight years.

Check out the rest of the article especially all the OIA Champions from 1966 up until 2017.

#SterlingCarvalho #SiuakiLivai #ReggieTorres #MakoaFreitas #VavaeTata #DougSemones #FamikaAnae

bottom of page