@alohigilman has been named to two prestigious post-season award watch lists: The Jim Thorpe Award a

(Photo: Matt Cashore, 247Sports)

Aloha Gilman is the first Red Raider to be named on two prestigious college football post-season award watch lists. Just yesterday he was named to the Jim Thorpe Award watch list while the Bronko Nagurski Trophy released their list today and he was among those to watch.

The Jim Thorpe Award is given to the nations best defensive back and has been done so since 1986. The Oklahoma Sport Hall of Fame selects the winner of this award.

1993 was the first year the Nagurski Trophy was awarded to college football's best defensive player as chosen by the Football Writers Association of America. The Charlotte Touchdown Club does the honor of presenting the award.

I don't know that any Red Raider has ever been on any of these pre-season watch lists but it is pretty cool that this year we have 2 RRs on them. Bradlee Anae is the other one having being named to the Bednarik Award watch list. Makes for an even more exciting year of college football while giving our current Red Raiders something to strive for.